Skin Deep

Skin Deep

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:

"I wanted to say this morning, only you ran off ... sorry if I was rude.' The boy from the boat grineed, looking straight at me. 'You surprised me, that's all. The scar' - he touched his face - 'took me by surprise. I didn't mean to be rude.' I gaped at him. Nobody ever, ever mentioned the scars."

An against-the-odds teen love story shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize.

Ugly people don't have feelings. They're not like everyone else. They don't notice if you stare at them and turn away. And if they did notice, it wouldn't hurt them. They're not like real people. Or that's what I used to think. Before I learned . . . After the car crash that leaves her best friend dead, Jenna is permanently scarred. She struggles to rebuild her life, but every stare in the street, every time she looks in the mirror, makes her want to retreat further from the world. Until she meets Ryan. Ryan's a traveller. When he and his mother moor their narrow boat on the outskirts of a village, she tells him this time it will be different. He doesn't believe her; he can't imagine why this place shouldn't be as unwelcoming as the rest. Until he meets Jenna. But as Jenna and Ryan grow closer, repercussions from the crash continue to reverberate through the community. And then a body is found . . .

A story of prejudice and courage, brimming with mystery. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Valentine and Jenny Downham.

Look out for Laura's other books: Louder than Words, By Any Other Name, and In Another Life.

Laura Jarratt was born in Salford and has lived all over the UK. Although her favourite subject was English, she accidentally studied Science at university. She finally settled in rural Cheshire, where she lives with her family and is owned by a ginger cat with no tail.

By day, she works in education because it's never boring and by night, she writes for young adults because they're the most interesting people in the world.

Skin Deep, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Prize and the the YA category of the Romantic Novelists Association.

Publisher: London : Electric Monkey, c2012.
ISBN: 9781405256728
1405256729
Characteristics: 376 p. ;,20 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
Lotte_
Feb 01, 2014

i loved this book so much!!!!! it was not only extremely well written but had a believable plot and characters. a really sweet story about a boy and a girl but it definitely is not your usual girl meets boy story.

if you read this book it will definitely make your heart melt.

s
s_arizaverreault
Feb 01, 2013

I loved it!! SO CUTE

h
H21841256
Dec 14, 2012

This was a great read! Such a sweet story, I absolutely loved it! One of my favourite reads of 2012!

m
matbuster27
Aug 03, 2012

i loved this book so much, very well written and inspiring! well done :)

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top