Chancers

Chancers

Addiction, Prison, Recovery, Love: One Couple's Memoir

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
1
"For readers of Beautiful Boy, Drinking- A Love Story, and Dry comes a brave shared memoir, told in alternating chapters, of love, addiction, devotion, and redemption. When Stanford-educated New York Times journalist Susan Stellin met the edgy and charming Scottish portrait photographer Graham MacIndoe, they fell hard and fast. But after their romantic first few months together, Graham's addiction to heroin and crack slowly eroded their relationship. In Chancers, they tell their story, from Graham's arrest for drug possession, his stint at Riker's Island, and his looming threat of deportation to Susan's struggles, first to distance herself, then to follow her instincts to help him."
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, ©2016.
ISBN: 9781101882740
Characteristics: xvii, 422 pages :,illustrations ;,25 cm.
Additional Contributors: MacIndoe, Graham 1963-- Author

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
MplsTA
May 30, 2017

Great reading. I finished it in a day or two.

Chapters alternate between the user and the author. The user boyfriend struggling to kick drugs and the girlfriend author who can't quite pull out of the relationship.

The book is a great caution to those who unknowingly get involved with someone who is hooked on drugs. The author was shocked to realize this man she was in love with was a street-drug user. By the time she found out, their relationship was well underway.

r
runningbeat
Nov 06, 2016

Loved this book, couldn't put it down.
So much to learn from this story.
A must read as there are so many different kind of addictions and this book could apply to any of them.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

r
runningbeat
Nov 07, 2016

runningbeat thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top