Salt Fat Acid Heat

Salt Fat Acid Heat

Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
Now a Netflix series!

New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple ICAP Cookbook Awards

Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic , The Washington Post , Chicago Tribune , Rachel Ray Every Day , San Francisco Chronicle , Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour , Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune , The Seattle Times , Tampa Bay Times , Tasting Table, Modern Farmer , Publishers Weekly, and more.

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat , an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements--Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food--and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes--and dozens of variations--to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs.

Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you'll ever need.

With a foreword by Michael Pollan.
Publisher: New York, New York : Simon & Schuster, ©2017.
ISBN: 9781476753836
Characteristics: 469 pages :,colour illustrations ;,24 cm.
Additional Contributors: MacNaughton, Wendy - Illustrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
sec1019
Oct 03, 2018

A beautiful book for anyone that wants to LEARN to cook and not copy a recipe - although there are many WONDERFUL recipes included.

ArapahoeJane Oct 02, 2018

Here we go again: Yet another book I felt compelled to purchase after borrowing. This cookbook is unique in that it fully explains the rationale (chemistry, if you will) for recipe instructions. I didn't read it all the way through but decided that I surely need to. I think this book holds the key to transforming my cooking (into something edible each time), whether I use a recipe or not!

j
J_Ray
Jun 27, 2018

This is not really a cookbook, but it's much better. Take your time and read the beginning carefully as it outlines how Salt, Acid, Fat and Heat all work individually and together. The second half of the book shows these concepts in practice, in a more traditional format. But, the true value of the book comes from the theory.

Some people on the internet highly recommended this book and I'm glad I found it at the library!

a
AB8624
Jun 19, 2018

Way too much to read for explaining these concepts. We're not looking to be scientists but just need easy steps to cook, dear author. Perusing helped me only to get thru it.

t
tomatoguy
Feb 25, 2018

I wish I had a book like this years ago! A definite gift for budding or wannabe cooks - much more than the usual list of recipes: it teaches you _how_ to approach creating food with four cornerstones of making food influenced by practices around the world. There are charts about doing things in different ways depending on the ethnic origin, which make things like spicing more than lists of recipe ingredients.

It's light on essential techniques like knife-work and tools usage, but that's not what it's about. If you master the concepts in this book you'll be one of those people who can "make anything with anything."

g
goodforyoujoey
Dec 29, 2017

when I first took out the book, I thought the "heat" was going to help in the area of heat as applied to spice heat. Since I often make things too spicy for others, I was intrigued. I liked the concept of the book, and was impressed while flipping through. at a closer and more thorough read, I wasn't as happy. I should say that i prefer books which combine great cooking with health in mind, we're in the year 2017... All this saturated fat. There are other fats out there , and she barely mentions them. It almost seemed that she tailored her advice to fit a catchy title. salt fat heat and acid are not the only or even the most important things to consider, and she even goes into umami very briefly, but saying that you can have" toomami". well, if you're going to mention that you can have too much of that, maybe that should be in the title, too. Ever have something that's too sweet? wrong texture? Just a few examples. She talks a lot , and that's cool, but at the expense of good information, after all, this is meant to instruct people on cooking very well. I would have preferred it if her personal stuff was in a separate section at the beginning or end, so that you didn't have to go through it to get to the cooking instruction. I took away some good ideas from the book, though not much was new

m
MelissaCan
Sep 06, 2017

Even seasoned kitchen wizards will learn a thing or two from this "cookbook." I've cooked the conveyor belt chicken (Excellent and easy!), the fettucini alfredo, the pomodoro sauce, and the persian-ish rice. With the exception of slightly burning my rice, so far all of the recipes have been spot on- delicious AND intuitive.
I've got a new understanding about the nature of salt and why it matters so much. The illustrations are superb. The narrative is sweet and humble, with stories that really help to drive her points across.
The author also is from San Diego-- it is great to support a chef with SD roots.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top