The Woman in the Window

The Woman in the Window

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
58
3
3

"Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing." --Gillian Flynn

"Unputdownable." --Stephen King

"A dark, twisty confection." --Ruth Ware

"Absolutely gripping." --Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone--a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble--and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one--and nothing--is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Publisher: New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, ©2018.
ISBN: 9780062799555
9780062678416
Characteristics: 427 pages ;,23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kkkkkathy
Jun 22, 2018

I really enjoyed this fast-moving book. I read the large print version -- almost 600 pages -- in two days during a beach vacation! If you are looking for a new author, this could be the book for you.

l
LibraryLES
Jun 21, 2018

Loved it!! Reminded me a lot of Girl on the Train.

k
KristineLeger
Jun 21, 2018

This is a well written psychological thriller. If you liked Gone Girl and Girl on the Train you will enjoy this one.

n
natcin7
Jun 20, 2018

March 20 2018
This novel reads like a stylish black and white film noir. A. J. Finn has written a story that is an homage to all the old films of the 40s and 50s. He has created a psychological thriller that could have been directed by Alfred Hitchcock. Turn off your phone, pour yourself a glass of wine and prepare to be thrilled. NC

m
molly
Jun 20, 2018

Nothing but dialogue!

d
Daily
Jun 19, 2018

Boring...….quit reading before the end which isn't my thing.

g
gina3344
Jun 16, 2018

This book by A. J. Finn is one of the best thrillers I've read in quite some time. I read this book in two days. I could't put it down. Talk about a page turner! This book has one twist after another and an ending that I never would have imagined. I recommended it to two of my friends, and they were equally impressed. To anyone who loves a good thriller, you can't go wrong with A. J. Finn's The Woman in the Window.

aghilton Jun 14, 2018

AMAZING. Great suspenseful mystery!

j
J_Maddux
Jun 07, 2018

Overall not too bad of a story. The author takes a lot from other stories and old movies. In fact some are even listed throughout the book.

It's a fast read. The frantic choppy dialogue moves it along pretty quick.
A couple of things were pretty obvious, but did have a couple of nice twists closer to the end with the false endings.
A decent choice if you have a little time to kill while you wait for something else to become available.

k
KAREN S HARRIS
Jun 06, 2018

Boring. So overrated & struggled reading entire book thinking would get better. It didn't. Definitely not a thriller or even a mystery.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

v
violet_fox_523
Jun 04, 2018

violet_fox_523 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

PimaLib_DavidaL May 17, 2018

PimaLib_DavidaL thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

"Watching is like nature photography: You don't interfere with the wildlife.” - p. 4

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about.”
 —Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“My head was once a filing cabinet. Now it’s a flurry of papers, floating on a draft.”

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top