Then She Was Gone

Then She Was Gone

A Novel

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
68
1
"Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell--perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty. Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her. And then she was gone. Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It's been ten years since her daughter disappeared, seven years since her marriage ended, and only months since the last clue in Ellie's case was unearthed. So when she meets an unexpectedly charming man in a cafe, no one is more surprised than Laurel at how quickly their flirtation develops into something deeper. Before she knows it, she's meeting Floyd's daughters--and his youngest, Poppy, takes Laurel's breath away. Because looking at Poppy is like looking at Ellie. And now, the unanswered questions she's tried so hard to put to rest begin to haunt Laurel anew. Where did Ellie go? Did she really run away from home, as the police have long suspected, or was there a more sinister reason for her disappearance? Who is Floyd, really? And why does his daughter remind Laurel so viscerally of her own missing girl?"--
Publisher: New York : Atria Books, ©2018.
ISBN: 9781501154645
9781501192838
Characteristics: 359 pages ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
h
Horseshoe
Nov 20, 2020

I really enjoyed this book. I read it in two days as I couldn't put it down. The suspense builds as you read on. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

r
rafrenette
Nov 10, 2020

Read this in a matter of days! Awesome read with so many twists and surprises...I may have found my new favorite author.

r
Reads_A_Lot
Oct 19, 2020

This domestic, psychological drama was a good page turner. A little bit of a different twist on the missing daughter/grieving mother plot. Written in a way that keeps you engrossed which makes it a quick read.

e
EljayJohnson
Oct 10, 2020

I certainly like thrillers sometimes and in this year of reading a ridiculous number of books, I've read more than I usually do. And I've discovered that I like them well-written and gritty (Gillian Flynn and Do Not Be Alarmed come to mind), or literary (Tana French), or wildly over the top (like My Lovely Wife) or solidly well-written, clever, and atmospheric (Jane Harper, the Kate Burkholder series). It's the middle of the road ones (Riley Sager, The Silent Patient, Jar of Hearts) that bore and annoy me with their shoddy writing and not even a finger-hold in reality. If only I could be sure what I was getting when I start a book! Anyway, this falls in the solid, well-written category and it's probably a 3.5 star rating for me. Like in dozens of other books of this ilk, there's a missing girl and while Jewell doesn't necessarily do anything ground-breaking with that, she wrote a page-turning, immersive story with clearly delineated characters I believed in.

l
labraden
Sep 30, 2020

Laurel has spent the last few years isolating herself from the rest of her family after her daughter, Ellie left home to go to the library and never returned. Just as she meets a man and begins to reopen her life, the remains of her daughter are found. Laurel finally closes the door on that chapter of her life intending to move on, but questions still remain about the death of her daughter and the new man in her life.

In Then She Was Gone, each chapter presents a different perspective and jumps from "then" to "now," which sounds confusing, but the author manages to make it easy to follow. The mystery of what happened to Ellie is a plot thread that runs throughout the book interwoven with the way each character perceives what has happened. Although it is well written, the story is less about the questions surrounding Ellie's disappearance, and more about how the disappearance affected the lives of those who cared about her, making it more of a survival after tragedy than a mystery. Overall, not really my kind of story.

m
mjoans_0
Aug 11, 2020

I thought the story line was too predictable. Really only one surprise twist that I hadn’t expected. It was OK for a quick summer read.

l
lesliekm
Aug 04, 2020

I bought this book for book club. I could not put the book down! I love the way Lisa Jewell writes and will plan to read the books she has written. If you have any recommendations please let me know.

k
klucero4
May 13, 2020

This is a very easy read albeit very disturbing. None of the characters are very likeable and the further you delve in the more uncomfortable you become with the plot and storyline. I can't say that I would recommend it, but it did keep me interested enough to read until the end.

l
laneyg85
Apr 29, 2020

A grieving mother meets a man who has a young daughter that closely resembles her 15-year old daughter that went missing 10 years ago and many twists and turns follow. This book was quite a page turner and I literally had to rip myself away from it to go to bed at night! Wow.... it was so good and as others have said it reminded me a lot of The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. I enjoyed every bit of it and although it had many sad moments, it was a very satisfying read and had everything you would expect and more from Lisa Jewell.

JCLKelseyR Apr 05, 2020

Interesting enough to keep me reading. Definitely a "cozy" thriller, in my opinion. This is a quick, easy read. I was left wanting the "bone-chilling suspense" promised in reviews.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
l
lauriechip
Sep 04, 2019

lauriechip thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top