Dread Nation

Dread Nation

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
5
2
1
Rate this:

New York Times Bestseller!

At once provocative, terrifying, and darkly subversive, Dread Nation is Justina Ireland's stunning vision of an America both foreign and familiar--a country on the brink, at the explosive crossroads where race, humanity, and survival meet.

Jane McKeene was born two days before the dead began to walk the battlefields of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania--derailing the War Between the States and changing the nation forever.

In this new America, safety for all depends on the work of a few, and laws like the Native and Negro Education Act require certain children attend combat schools to learn to put down the dead.

But there are also opportunities--and Jane is studying to become an Attendant, trained in both weaponry and etiquette to protect the well-to-do. It's a chance for a better life for Negro girls like Jane. After all, not even being the daughter of a wealthy white Southern woman could save her from society's expectations.

But that's not a life Jane wants. Almost finished with her education at Miss Preston's School of Combat in Baltimore, Jane is set on returning to her Kentucky home and doesn't pay much mind to the politics of the eastern cities, with their talk of returning America to the glory of its days before the dead rose.

But when families around Baltimore County begin to go missing, Jane is caught in the middle of a conspiracy, one that finds her in a desperate fight for her life against some powerful enemies.

And the restless dead, it would seem, are the least of her problems.

Please note that this book has deckle edges (the edges of the paper are purposely rough).

Publisher: New York : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, ©2018.
ISBN: 9780062570604
Characteristics: 451 pages ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jayna_DCL May 16, 2018

During the Civil War the dead rise again to become zombies or shamblers as they are now known. A weird, but awesome book, this will appeal to fans of "World War Z" or Justin Cronin's "The Passage."

ArapahoeMary Apr 18, 2018

Even if you don't generally pick up books with supernatural elements you will be riveted by this story of Jane, a black woman forced to train as an "attendant" who will protect wealthy young white ladies from the Undead, who have risen up from their graves of the civil war. Jane is spunky and smart, and the plot races along to an exciting, dangerous end. There's much to think about in this alternate US history story.

m
MythrielofSolitude
Apr 09, 2018

It's amazing!

p
poppygaston
Mar 25, 2018

Received this as a egalley. Loved the premise, the characters, and the pace of the story.

KCLSRacheal Jan 21, 2018

As someone who thought they were 110% done with zombie stories, I can say that this is something fresh and amazing. I'd recommend this to just about anyone- people who love a rip roaring good yarn, people who like well written, well crafted stories that know what they're doing, people who love fantastic character development and flawed but kick-butt characters.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

e
ElenaLikesBooks
May 10, 2018

ElenaLikesBooks thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

SCTeenBookClub May 02, 2018

SCTeenBookClub thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

SCTeenBookClub May 02, 2018

Parents need to know that Dread Nation is alternative-history zombie thriller that takes place after the U.S. Civil War ends not with the South's surrender but when the dead begin to rise up on the battlefields of Gettysburg and Chancellorsville. Author Justina Ireland explores what would've happened had zombies (or shamblers, as they're called in the book) stopped the war in order for Americans to come together to battle the undead (or force black and indigenous folks to fight them). Like Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, the book features a good deal of violence, as is appropriate to a story about zombie slayers (lots of deaths either from the undead eating live humans, or from humans shooting, stabbing, decapitating the undead, or people beating, stabbing, and shooting one another). There are also some racial slurs of the era ("darkie," "colored," "pickaninny," "coon," etc.) in the story. Parents and teens who read the book together can discuss a host of socio-political and historical issues, from institutional racism and white supremacy to shadism, passing, educational segregation, well-intentioned but ineffective white benevolence, and more.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top