Sawkill Girls

Sawkill Girls

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
"From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women ..."--
Publisher: New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, An Imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, ©2018.
ISBN: 9780062696601
Characteristics: 447 pages ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
IndyPL_ShellieR Apr 22, 2020

The first half of this book was almost too creepy for me! It was hard to tell who could be trusted and who was totally evil. Around halfway through, things started to get a little clearer, just in time for another threat to surface from a far more ordinary source. This book was a little bit 7th-season-Buffy and a whole lot of awesome girl power.

j
jreinfried
Aug 06, 2019

WAY too much man hate in the second half. I seriously get a little bit of it, but the extent of it in this book becomes off putting. We get it. You hate men. Stop forcing it down our damn throats.

The first half was good enough to keep my interest, with a few pretty good spooky parts I didn't expect. Then the man hate started and the book just goes downhill, not necessarily because of that, but it didn't help. For some reason, the characters just end up not really doing what makes sense (if someone kills your loved one and then fully admits they were of sound mind and not being controlled by a demon like you thought, would you not just forgive them but also fall in love with them? Yeah, me neither...). Even a lot of the dialogue got stupid. Good premise, just not well executed, at least not enough to be anything other than a mediocre book. I struggled to finish this one.

w
WoodneathRachel
Feb 14, 2019

Horror with a feminist twist, this story looks at the power young women wield when they work together rather than against each other - in this case it' s elemental! Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Charmed will enjoy this - but be warned, there is some quite descriptive goriness.

l
lynndeeslibrary
Jan 18, 2019

I was on board with this until the second half of the book.

1) a romance occurs between 2 characters that just did not seem like a natural progression after what had happened in the first half.
2) While representation is definitely important, the dialogue between 2 characters about 1 of them being ace seemed forced. Nothing seemed organic about the representation in this novel, if that makes sense.
3) the Hand of Light as the bad guys (when there was already a monster to deal with) was laughable. They were caricatures and inserted into the plot line without much of a background on them.

I liked the author's writing, and thought the novel had a good pace. I just thought the whole "take back your power" feminist theme fell flat.

DPLaprilteenservices Oct 26, 2018

I love the author's own comment on Goodreads: "This is a book about girls--girls loving girls, girls kissing girls, girls being friends with girls, girls helping girls. Girls who hunger, girls who rage. Girls who fight, girls who make mistakes, girls who dream and pine. It's also about magic and monsters, family secrets and soul-friends, moths and wild horses and the churning wild sea, and trampling the patriarchy." SIGN ME UP.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top