The Harp of Kings

The Harp of Kings

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
"A young woman is both a bard--and a warrior--in this thrilling historical fantasy from the author of the Sevenwaters novels."--
Liobhan is a powerful singer and an expert whistle player; her brother Brocc has a voice to melt the hardest heart, and a rare talent on the harp. But Liobhan's burning ambition is to join the elite warrior band on Swan Island. While training, their unusual blend of skills makes them ideal for a particular job, which requires going undercover as traveling minstrels. Their mission: to find and retrieve a precious harp, an ancient symbol of kingship, which has gone missing. If the instrument is not played at the upcoming coronation, the candidate will not be accepted and the people could revolt. Liobhan soon realizes an Otherworld power may be meddling in the affairs of the kingdom. -- adapted from jacket.
Publisher: New York : Ace, ©2019.
ISBN: 9780451492784
0451492781
Characteristics: xii, 448 pages ;,20 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
CCPL_Laura Jan 15, 2020

Diving into a Marillier novel is a treat, both familiar and refreshingly new all at once. With a fast pace and multiple points of view, the reader captures a full picture of what happens within the court, the servants’ hall, and in the Otherworld with the druids and fae. Marillier’s typical lush descriptions and beautiful prose shine. The characters’ determination to accomplish their mission is so tangible, the reader can’t help but root for the recovery of the harp and the rightful king to ascend the throne. Music, action, druids, courtly intrigue, and Irish faeries as they should be—what more could you want from a Marillier novel? Fans of Tasha Suri, SA Chakraborty, and Patrick Rothfuss would enjoy this book.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top