Veracity

Veracity

A Novel

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Harper Adams was six years old in 2012 when an act of viral terrorism wiped out one-half of the country's population. Out of the ashes rose a new government, the Confederation of the Willing, dedicated to maintaining order at any cost. The populace is controlled via government-sanctioned sex and drugs, a brutal police force known as the Blue Coats, and a device called the slate, a mandatory implant that monitors every word a person speaks. To utter a Red-Listed, forbidden word is to risk physical punishment or even death.But there are those who resist. Guided by the fabled "Book of Noah," they are determined to shake the people from their apathy and ignorance, and are prepared to start a war in the name of freedom. The newest member of this resistance is Harper -- a woman driven by memories of a daughter lost, a daughter whose very name was erased by the Red List. And she possesses a power that could make her the underground warriors' ultimate weapon -- or the instrument of their destruction.In the tradition of Margaret Atwood'sThe Handmaid's Tale, Laura Bynum has written an astonishing debut novel about a chilling, all-too-plausible future in which speech is a weapon and security comes at the highest price of all.
Publisher: New York : Pocket Books, 2010.
ISBN: 9781439123348
1439123349
Characteristics: VI, 376 p. ;,24 cm.

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kristen89
Jan 29, 2013

Was an interesting storyline with the government all ruling but the constant changing of the dates between past and present became confusing. Each chapter seemed to have it's own sub plots that never really wrapped up before changing back to present time which I found to ultimately take away from the story as a whole. This is intended for an older youth group as the 'enforcers' use rape as a punishment. A good read overall for being interesting and different. The book of Noah is not what I had first thought it to be, what a twist!

f
FollowFreeman
May 28, 2011

A fast-paced great read. The ending was a bit rushed. But overall a good thriller. The different jumps to different times added an unique feel to the book.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top