Pinocchio, Vampire Slayer

Pinocchio, Vampire Slayer

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
After seeing Geppetto die at the hands of vampires, Pinocchio swears revengein this darkly funny graphic novel. As the vampires plot the enslavement ofmankind, only a one-puppet army stands in their way. But will a wooden boy andhis endless supply of stakes -- courtesy of plenty of lies and hiselongating nose -- be enough to save the day?
Publisher: San Jose, Calif. : SLG, [2010].
ISBN: 9781593621766
Characteristics: [128] p. :,chiefly ill. ;,22 cm.
Additional Contributors: Higgins, Dusty


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Jan 29, 2016

Featured on the awful library books blog.

Apr 05, 2011

This graphic novel was very well done. Very funny, without being over the top. There isn't much of your classic Disney wooden puppet here! The brief description of the real story of Pinocchio at the start is very cute and funny

Feb 21, 2011

Great and fun comic :) I thought it was gonna be over-the-top dark or deliberately have ppl swearing all over the place just to have it be superficially "adult" but it was not that at all :) It may be a darker, stranger Pinocchio world than we're used to (not like the original was all light and fun either xD), but I thought the portrayals of the characters were very spot on and complex, esp Pinocchio who in this book is a hero in the vein of Spider-Man or Batman: a child who b/c of tragedy is forced to grow up very quickly and take responsibility. :) It's a fun comic, but more importantly it's a well written one and I rly enjoyed it :)

quagga Jul 22, 2010

I didn't expect to enjoy a monster mash-up so very much. Geppetto has been killed by vampires and Pinocchio is out for revenge. He tells a lie and then snaps off his nose. This provides a handy and effective wooden stake that turns the vampires of Nasolungo to dust.

Dusty Higgins' strong black and white art (and Pinocchio's line "I kill monsters") reminded me of Niimura's work in I Kill Giants. There is also a woodcut sort of style to the imagery that evokes the setting and the classic original story. Patterned scarves worn by the villagers and vampires are a nice visual touch. Van Jensen's retelling - post-telling, actually - is sly, inventive and thoroughly entertaining. Grade 6 - adult.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at LPL

To Top